International Women’s Day – Uppingham First

Uppingham is acknowledging the success of its female community champions to mark International Women’s Day on March 8th, 2021.

Patron of the national ‘Women in Management’ organisation Ron Simpson BEM said,

“Both Uppingham and Rutland are very fortunate to have so many talented women in key community leadership roles. They set a fine example to us all. A Women in the High Street Network event later this year will celebrate our good fortune as a county.

Rutland has an excellent female MP in Alicia Kearns and an outstanding Lord Lieutenant in Dr Sarah Furness. The County Council has hardworking women in the roles of deputy leader and deputy leader of the opposition (Cllrs Lucy Stephenson and Miranda Jones respectively), both from Uppingham. The Deputy Mayor of Uppingham is currently Liz Clarke who also chairs the local C of E primary school governing body. Both local primary schools have female headteachers and the town’s main church is led by Cannon Rachel Watts.

Other key organisations in the town are led by women including the Uppingham Neighbourhood Forum (Janet Thompson, pictured), Uppingham in Bloom (Pam Dalby); Town Show Committee (Nicky Jervis), Rotary (Caroline Cartwright) and the UppWatch/Covid-19 help desk (Margaret Simpson BEM). More than 50% of the town’s high street businesses are led by women and 50% of the town’s Emergency Plan Committee Coordinators are women (Amanda Shaw, Sheena Ainslie, Margaret Simpson BEM, and Janet Thompson). One of the National Association of Local Councils' (NALC) new national Councillor advocates is Uppingham childcare business owner Lucy Lewin. Significantly, 40% of the town’s Community Hopper Bus team are women The list goes on.

On March 8th we formally acknowledge women’s substantial contribution to society. The day is an international celebration of all women’s achievements and an acknowledgment of the significant challenges they still face in many parts of the world”.



Uppingham in Rutland has achieved remarkable success in recent years in the East Midlands regional women’s awards. One or more categories of the Awards have been won by the town every year since its inception. Winners to date are Pam Dalby, Jennifer Fenelon (Health Service), Lucy Lewin, Liz Clarke and Lucy Stephenson.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.